Joining the WTO

image of Joining the WTO

Montenegro, Russia, Samoa and Vanuatu formally joined the WTO in 2012, raising the number of members (as of end-December 2012) to 157. Two other countries – the Lao People’s Democratic Republic (Laos) and Tajikistan – completed their accession agreements during the year and joined in early 2013. This takes the WTO a step closer to its goal of universal membership. In 2012, the General Council adopted steps to ease the accession process for least-developed countries (LDCs). Measures were also taken to strengthen accession-related technical assistance for LDCs.

Related Topics: The WTO ; Trade monitoring
-contentType:WorkingPaperSeries -contentType:Periodical -contentType:BookSeries -contentType:ReportSeries
This is a required field
Please enter a valid email address
Approval was a Success
Invalid data
An Error Occurred
Approval was partially successful, following selected items could not be processed due to error